Time Flies When You’re Having Fun…

…which I really am!

This surprises me because I didn’t think I would like clinical.  I’ve always enjoyed the public health aspect of dietetics, such as outreach and nutrition education.  Hospitals have always kind of stressed me out, to be honest.  And it’s really hard to see patients that are truly suffering…and then ask them about something as seemingly trivial as “can you tell me about your typical diet?” (Although we all know diet can help with the management of chronic disease, of course.)

However, interning at the hospital has been very exciting.  I’m never bored or sitting around staring  at the clock so I can leave.  I’m either going through doctor and nurse notes, visiting with patients, shadowing dietitians, or writing diagnoses and interventions.  When I leave my house in the morning, I’m actually thinking, “I wonder what I’ll come across today” and it’s true- with each day comes a new experience.  There’s no “typical” day thus far, nor a “typical” patient.  I’ve gotten the entire range of personalities, from the non-compliant people who don’t want to hear what I have to say whatsoever, to one patient actually requesting for me to come back the next day!

Hopefully I’ll still think this way in a few weeks when my patient load gets higher and more complex…!

One response to “Time Flies When You’re Having Fun…

  1. i’m so happy you’re enjoying clinical. it’s nice to read about your experiences on your blog. I’m sure all the patients LOVE you! keep it up!

Leave a Reply

