Staff “Relief”?

It’s down to the final two weeks of my dietetic internship clinical rotation: staff relief.  This is when I return to my original hospital that I spent 8 weeks at to perform as a fully-functioning dietitian.  After spending two amazing weeks at the VA, returning to my old hospital and trying to get back into how they do things was a little stressful at first.  For example, at the VA dietitians recommended tube feeding orders that the doctors could order, by describing it in notes that they submitted to the chart.  At the hospital I am at now, the dietitians actually put in the order themselves.  Since it is computerized, it took me a while to remember all the various steps of submitting the tube feeding formula, initiation, rate, additional instructions, attaching physicians, and electronically signing.  Luckily I picked it back up pretty fast yesterday- today I submitted three more!

I have to admit, I am actually feeling pretty good about my clinical abilities by now.  I still consult with another dietitian if I need a second opinion or have a question about the policies, but I am pretty much independent.  The past 10 weeks have really taught me so much, it’s hard to believe.  I learn best by actually doing things and learning from my mistakes (my mom knows this best…haha!) so the supervised practice set-up of this internship rotation was really beneficial to me.

Now I’m off to work on my major case study write-up and presentation…and get ready for another day of working as a dietitian.

Leave a Reply

