Mi Futuro en Nutrición

Happy New Year! I hope everyone has had a good start to 2011.  Have you made any good resolutions?

My Fiance and IWith the New Year comes big news for me. On a personal note, I just became engaged! Ordinarily, this would be all fine and well, but this commitment will have a significant impact on my career. You see, my fiancé is in the Army and will be moving to El Paso, TX, in March. Therefore, I will be joining him once I graduate from my dietetic internship (University of Maryland, College Park) at the end of June. I assume that after a few years we will have to move to another place, as well. Luckily I grew up in a military home (Coast Guard, baby) so it won’t be totally new. Plus I will get the opportunity to experience different jobs in dietetics and see how the profession differs in various geographic regions in the United States.

El Paso

My Future Home in far West Texas...no, not Juarez!

I love the DC-metro area and all it offers to young professionals. Maybe someday I will be able to return to Maryland! However, I looked into the El Paso area a bit and it seems like a pretty large city with several hospitals, including a VA- I had the fortune of spending time at the Baltimore VA earlier in my internship- see here and here. Also, with it’s extremely close proximity to Mexico (Ciudad Juarez just over a fence) there is a large Mexican/Hispanic population as well. I better start recalling my three years of high school Spanish…or maybe ask for Rosetta Stone for graduation!  I am excited to see what the future holds.

One response to “Mi Futuro en Nutrición

  1. Pingback: Life is Taking Me WHERE? Learning to Fit In | Mission: Dietitian

Leave a Reply

