Blogging with the Experts- IFIC

Downtown DC

In the heart of Washington, DC

Now that I’m back from break, I’ve launched into a new, three-week rotation.  It’s with the International Food Information Council (IFIC), located in downtown Washington, DC.  The 16 metro stops I must endure on the orange line during rush hour are a little much, but it’s definitely cool to be here!

My past experience working for the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is coming in handy with several of the things they do here.  Also, I’m sure if you’ve read my blog before that I have a personal interest in social media (Twitter, Linked In) and writing (hello, Mission: Dietitian).  IFIC incorporates a lot of that with their own articles, publications, social media, and blog entries at their website, Food Insight.  IFIC communicates the latest information about nutrition and food safety not only to consumers in the general public, but also stakeholders, professionals, educators, and more.

So far my partner and I have written a short article and a blog entry about ways to keep your New Years resolutions (I’ll be posting the link when it goes up).  This was a particularly meeting-heavy week, so we’ve had the opportunity to sit in on several that discussed their plans for the upcoming year.  We were also fortunate to learn more about the issue of food colors and hyperactivity–IFIC has a great Q&A on this controversial topic.

This is a great example of a rotation that sets the University of Maryland College Park Dietetic Internship apart from other internship programs, and I’m glad I can take advantage of it!

2 responses to “Blogging with the Experts- IFIC

  1. wow. I never thought about this in that way

  2. Pingback: Eat…Sleep…Blog! | Mission: Dietitian

Leave a Reply

