Back on Campus: Spring into Wellness!

I am currently rotating through the University of Maryland College Park Dining Services- mostly at the South Campus Dining Hall.  It’s the place where I ate every day my sophomore and junior year of college, so it’s a little strange to be on the other side of things!  My partner and I are learning about food service and employee wellness.  We’ve spoken to many UMD Dining employees about what they do, and how their job duties play into the bigger picture.  This includes budgeting, employee training and scheduling, management, food safety, and more.

Wellness Wall

Our Wellness Wall, Week #1. "Spring into Wellness"

I have to say, the UMD Dining website is pretty amazing.  Not only does it have nutritional analysis of all the foods it serves, it also has nutrition articles and tips!  Contributing content for the website is one of our duties as interns, as well as maintaining the employee “Wellness Wall” that contains healthy tips in English and Spanish.

It’s nice to be back on campus just as the weather is warming up.  I find myself running into some of my friends that are still on campus; they are slightly confused as to why they see me running around the dining hall after I graduated last spring!  We have one more week left in which we will do a final presentation including cooking up a meal.  Ours includes steak, orzo, peppers, and peanut butter cup cookies!

Leave a Reply

