Say Yes to the Plate…MyPlate & More

choosemyplate.gov dietary guidance logoI was so thrilled earlier this week when the USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) released the new dietary guidance logo, MyPlate, to replace MyPyramid.  Last January/February, I spent five weeks interning at CNPP in Alexandria, VA, where my partner and I were informed about the upcoming plate logo.  In addition to all the work we did to follow up the release of the Dietary Guidelines, 2010, we had the opportunity to participate in meetings and projects to support the plate, it’s new website, remodeling the partnership program, and developing additional resources.  See my posts from that rotation here, here, and some photos right here.

When I mentioned that I couldn’t be specific about what we were doing at CNPP, it was because it was plate-related!  It felt really awesome to be ahead of the rest of the nutrition community and be such an integrated part of the CNPP team.  Then, I checked the new choosemyplate.gov website and found that they just updated it with all of the projects we had worked on.

For example, the 10 Tips nutrition fact sheet series are used all over the nation by consumers as well as educational tools for health professionals.  I had the opportunity to actually contribute to this series!  Ala and I brainstormed the tip ideas featured in these resources, and worked with the staff to create the exact wording you’ll find on the web (all in PDF form):

It still blows me away to think that people across the nation will see this, what I personally had worked on during my dietetic internship rotation at CNPP!
So what’s next from USDA and CNPP? Look out for the upcoming SUPERTRACKER to be released at a later date, an updated tool for tracking activity and nutrition.

					
One response to “Say Yes to the Plate…MyPlate & More

  1. Pingback: My Very First FNCE: Overview | Mission: Dietitian

Leave a Reply

