Mission: Dietitian SUCCESS

Registered DietitianI am happy to report that after years of developing my career goals, 5 years of intense education, and months of studying, I have taken the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) RD-exam and passed, making me a Registered Dietitian at last!!

The test itself was a challenge, I thought.  It didn’t help that the testing center had a few problems, delaying my start about 30 minutes while they had to make some phone calls to get it running.  I was sitting there, feeling my blood pressure skyrocket- I was so scared that they’d come out and tell me to come back another day.  I just wanted to get it over with finally!  At that point I was just excited to take the test and move on with my life!

There was a quick video tutorial that kind of brought me back down to reality before the actual questions started.  It was nice to get a quick overview of the system and definitely helped me refocus before the test.  Then I began!

There is a minimum of 125 multiple choice questions, and a maximum of 145.  If you’re definitely going to pass or fail at 125 I believe they cut you off, however if there’s a chance you could pass with more questions, they will extend it.  As I pressed submit at question 125, I held my breath.

Then the screen went blank, and I was taken to a survey.  I hardly read the survey however because I wanted to get to my results!  Thankfully I passed- my score was over the required “25” with some room to spare (still not sure how they really calculate that). I got a good mix of foodservice/management as well as nutritional sciences/clinical.  I felt like I was guessing on quite a bit of questions, but I suppose my clinical and managerial judgement was good!  The review materials and practice questions I had definitely came in handy.  My next post will be about what I used to study and prepare for the RD exam.

Please let me know if you have any questions about what the exam was like, or if you have anything to add about the testing experience!

3 responses to “Mission: Dietitian SUCCESS

  1. Love this post, you hit described the test perfectly! I would like to add to anyone taking the test, remember that others may be taking DIFFERENT tests than you while testing. With that being said, even if you can tolerate noise I recommend using the ear plugs they give you, in case others aren’t taking their exams seriously. Someone may or may not have had a mini tantrum about her calculator for a math placement test during my exam.

  2. Thanks for the post I’m taking the exam March 15th and I’m to be able move on with life!!

  3. first of all congratulations 😀 that was a big step. I was wondering, what review materials and practice questions did you use to pass the exam?

Leave a Reply

